Kermit Ruffins with the Rebirth Brass Band – Throwback


Kermit & The Rebirth reunite for this epic party album



Now available to order on Vinyl! 2018 vinyl reissue features remastered audio specifically for vinyl, and a complete artwork redesign. Vinyl expected to arrive and ship out to those who have ordered in September 2018. All vinyl orders from Basin Street Records include digital download of the full album. 100 signed (by Kermit Ruffins) and numbered copies available exclusively from the BSR web store.

New Orleans native Kermit Ruffins was aptly born on the birthday of one of that city’s most deservedly heralded masters of music, Professor Longhair. The 40-year-old trumpet player came blasting out of high school with the Rebirth Brass Band. Formed with tuba player Philip Frazier, the ensemble stormed across 10 years, several continents, and 7 albums before disbanding in 1992. Here reconvened, they’ve lost none of their exuberant flair and verve. The seven originals by Ruffins are mixed with numbers by the city’s current elder statesman, Mac Rebennack, as well as Ray Charles, Mildred Hill’s perennial “Happy Birthday,” and more. Unobtrusively produced, the set bristles with the immediacy of a true celebration. —David Greenberger

The reunion of the RBB with its original trumpet man-who left to get off the road and explore a solo career-explodes with the enthusiasm of a backyard barbecue, with everyone digging into the funk and singing along. Many of the songs are built on blues riffs or vamps, and when these guys start blowing it’s hard to sit passively during a hard-hitting groove like “Make Way for the Rebirth” or Dr. John’s “Mardi Gras Day.” – Mike Shanley, JazzTimes

Vinyl Track Listing:

Side A

  1. Make Way For The Rebirth
  2. Mr. Big Stuff
  3. Here To Stay
  4. Mardi Gras Day (feat. Trombone Shorty)

Side B

  1. It’s Later Than You Think
  2. I Got A Woman
  3. Happy Birthday
  4. Up In Tha Hood (feat. Mary Griffin)



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Kermit Ruffins with the Rebirth Brass Band – Throwback”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *